Happy Veteran’s Day

IMG_2454aVeterans Day- another holiday? Technically yes, but it’s one that comes with great sacrifice. Today I wanted to venture from a photography related post to one about our Nation’s history.

Each holiday I try to talk to my children about the holiday, why do we get to take a break from school and work, what made today a holiday.  Sad to say when it came to Veterans Day, I didn’t really know much more than it was a day to honor our veterans.  After a quick Google search I found myself intrigued.  I want to share with you a few Veterans Day facts I learned this year and I prepared to honor our vets.

  • Originally called “Armistice Day”, beginning on November 11, 1919 and served as the first anniversary marking the end of World War I.
  • In 1938 it became a national holiday for annual obervance.
  • Unlike Memorial Day, which honors the veterans who died in service, Veteran’s Day honors all American Veterans.
  • In 1954 President Eisenhower changed the name of the holiday to Veterans Day.
  • Veterans Day was moved to the fourth Monday of October in 1971; however, in 1975 President Ford moved the holiday back to November 11  due to its historical significance.
  • Britain, France, Australia, and Canada also commemorate veterans of World War I and II around November 11. Europe, Britain and Commonwealth countries observe two minutes of silence at 11:00 every November 11. Isn’t that awesome?

In my search for more information I also found some interesting, and surprisingly high, veterans statistics.

  • 9.2 million veterans over the age of 65
  • 1.9 million under 35
  • 1.8 million women
  • 7.8 million served during the Veitnam War represent my 33% of living veterans
  • Florida is one of the top five states with veterans among their population at 1.7 million
  • VA Health Care had 54 hospitals in 1930, that has since expanded to:
    • 171 medical centers
    • More than 350 outpatient facilities
    • 126 nursing home care units
    • 35 live in care facilities for injured and disabled veterans

I was amazed at some of the numbers I read. I learned so much from our nations history that I did not know. We are incredibly blessed to live in such an amazing country.  It is important to remember that blessing did not come without huge sacrifices from our veterans and their families. Those statistics listed above are an illustration of the sacrifices taken each and every day by those protecting our beautiful country.

Please take time today to honor our veterans. If your town has a parade go and wave the American flag proudly. If you are out and about and see a veteran take the time to thank them. If you can just taking a moment of silence for those sacrifices made for you, your children, your grand-children and so on. I thank God everyday for the blessings he’s given me and my family and our veterans are a huge part of those blessings.

I cannot say it enough but THANK YOU to our service men and women, veterans, and their families!

Enjoy your day- and happy Veterans Day!

Leave a Reply

